Skip to content ↓

Top honours for students at College Awards Evenings

Students who have worked hard, shown an excellent commitment to their studies or an outstanding contribution to the College community were celebrated at Awards Evenings.

Attended by parents, governors and staff, the evenings were a chance to honour those students who have dedicated themselves to being the best they possibly could this year.

Bursary awards were presented to eight exceptional students for excellent progress, determination and attitude in their subject area. These special awards are handed out in memory of members of staff from the College, and student Jodie Chesney, who all sadly passed away while working or studying here.

Many other young people were rewarded for improvement, commitment, reliability, 100 per cent attendance, being Student Ambassadors, belonging to the College Council or making a stand-out contribution to their Faculty.

The guest speakers were former student and current teacher Emma Tunnicliff, who is now the College’s Subject Leader for Level 2 BTEC Sport, and former student Rhiannon Akhurst, who is studying Marine Biology at the University of Exeter.

Emma told the audience how she had felt a failure when she left school with only three GCSE passes, but she made a fresh start when she joined Havering Sixth Form and with hard work and determination, she achieved Distinctions in the Level 3 Sport BTEC and went on to gain a degree in Sport Psychology from the University of East London.

She said: “With hard work, everyone can achieve. I was unbelievably proud when I passed my college course but I still felt I wasn’t good enough for university. I’m so pleased the teachers here made me apply because I wouldn’t be where I am now if I hadn’t challenged myself.”

Rhiannon said: “Being at Havering Sixth Form set me on the right path and I loved every minute of it. As a student there are many wonderful opportunities that you are offered by the College and you should take every one of them, plus always ask for support when you need it.”

Principal Paul Wakeling said: “Every single young person on this stage has done fantastic things this year and we are very proud of them. These awards are not only about the grades – they are about some of the other things these students have brought to the College. They are the future and they are going to go on to be successful young adults and good citizens of our community.”

The Bursary Award winners were:

The Jodie Chesney Memorial Award

Harry Luxton, awarded for Photography.

The Phyllis  Williams Memorial Award

Luis Bull, awarded for Art.

The Carmela Kubal Memorial Award

Abbie Morgan, awarded for Maths.

The Erica Jones Memorial Award

Mia Moore, awarded for Travel & Tourism.

The Laura Goates Memorial Award

Brandon Osborne, awarded for ICT.

The Jim Tyler Memorial Award

Andreea Macovei, awarded for BTEC Business.

The Andy Sasiadek Memorial Award

Nicole Whyte, awarded for Biology.

The Russell Vroobel Memorial Award

Hannah Edward, awarded for BTEC ICT.


Other award winners included:

Three Awards

Emily Hazzard, Freya Duffy, Sheila Kibwe and
Alexander Sloan (pictured).

Two Awards

Charlee Wood, Carie Howells, Sydney Merritt, Billie Parry, Emileomo Agun, Evie Finch, Georgia Hart, Hannah Edward, Isabella Dos Santos Hila, James Sevant, Jonathan Algra, Kayleigh Newman, Keshnee Gopaul, Lucy Daw, Magdalena Staicu, Moumita Hossain, Ryan Grayson, Thomas O’Donnell and Kaylah Lafeillee (pictured).

One Award

Yashfeen Choudhury, Tiffany Selvin, Angela Morina, Taylah Adams, Justin Arthur, Amber Bekkers, Shannon Boyce, Olivia Chamberlain, Morgan Connelly, Georgia Cook, Alice Cornish, Jaz Dager, Charlie Hendricks, Bhakti Joshi, Aaron Lal, Jade Leavens, Grant Macmaster, Sam Marquay, Shane McGuinness, Olivia Parsons, Will Perry, Ethel Pocais, Gyrie Pocais, Emily Proudfoot, Samantha Rogers, Memoona Shafqat, Alexander Stringer, Kara Twyford, Joshua Weatherley-Keep, James Whatling, Megan Wren, Josh Ellis, Leah Hurley, Kirsty Lock, Jack Payne, Sandeep Wilkhu, Latifatu Ayomide Adelanwa, Fatima Akuji, Akorede KJ Amuludun, Serpil Capar, Alex Free, Ahmed Ibrahim, Kieron Innis-Anthony, Elizabeth Lewis, Femi Osibemukun, Tedy Sam, Alex Dobrenov, Angie Montoya, Annie Counihan, Brittania Hylton, Caitlyn Collins, Callum Barry, Callum Denton, Corina Birca, Ellie-Mae Cater, Jennifer Iwuamadi, Jennifer Obanla, Joyce Akulami, Katie Francis, Kirsty Robinson, Naorin Mou, Nina Amaral, Tito Ogunbowale and Louis Lambert (pictured)

Apply now for September 2019

Discover what some of our students go on to achieve once they leave us on our Where Are They Now? page